Skip to content
  1. Do it online
  2. Login
  3. Have your say
  4. My Durham

Council Chairman and Vice Chairman

The Chairman and Vice chairman of Durham County Council are elected by the council each May and serve for 12 months.

The posts are non-political, with the holders carrying out duties on behalf of the council as a whole. Both posts are also ambassadorial. This means the Chairman and Vice Chairman 'fly the flag' for County Durham in neighbouring authorities and beyond.

The Chairman

Cllr Watts Stelling is Chairman of the Council for 2021/22. The Chairman must be a serving county councillor but not a member of the Cabinet. Find out more about the Chairman and their responsibilities.

Chairman's charity

Each year, the Chairman also chooses the Chairman's charity to support during their year of office.

Invitations to the Chairman

The Chairman welcomes invitations to attend events in the county. To invite the Chairman to an event, please have a look at our inviting the Chairman to events page.

Chairman's Medal

The Chairman's Medal was introduced to recognise unsung heroes, community champions and those who have dedicated their lives to particular organisations or events.

Vice Chairman

The Vice Chairman of the council supports the Chairman in carrying out ceremonial activities. Cllr Beaty Bainbridge is Vice-Chairman for 2021/22.

Chains of office

The Chairman and the Vice Chairman have chains of office which they wear to official engagements.

Contact us
Chairman of the Council
03000 267 202
Our address is:
  • Durham County Council
  • County Hall
  • Durham
  • County Durham
  • United Kingdom
  • DH1 5UL