Skip to content
  1. Do it online
  2. Login
  3. Have your say
  4. My Durham

Council Chair and Vice Chair

The Chair and Vice Chair of Durham County Council are elected by the council each May and serve for 12 months.

The posts are non-political, with the holders carrying out duties on behalf of the council as a whole. Both posts are also ambassadorial. This means the Chair and Vice Chair 'fly the flag' for County Durham in neighbouring authorities and beyond.

The Chair

The Chair of Durham County Council for 2023/24 is Cllr Joan Nicholson who represents the Annfield Plain electoral division. For further information about Cllr Nicholson, see About the Chair.

Chair's charities

Each year, the Chair also chooses the Chair's charities to support during their year of office. Cllr Nicholson's chosen charities are Durham Association of Boys and Girls Clubs and The Alzheimer's Society.

Invitations to the Chair

The Chair welcomes invitations to attend events in the county. To invite the Chair to an event, please have a look at our inviting the Chairman to events page.

Chair's Medal

The Chair's Medal was introduced to recognise unsung heroes, community champions and those who have dedicated their lives to particular organisations or events.

Vice Chair

The Vice-Chair of Durham County Council for 2023/24 is Cllr Mike McGaun who represents the Lanchester electoral division. For further information about Cllr McGaun, see About the Vice-Chair.

Chains of office

The Chair and the Vice Chair have chains of office which they wear to official engagements.

Contact us
Chairman of the Council
03000 267 202
Our address is:
  • Durham County Council
  • County Hall
  • Durham
  • County Durham
  • United Kingdom
  • DH1 5UL