Skip to content
  1. Do it online
  2. Have Your Say
  3. My Durham

Play space refurbishment scheme

Find out about the play space refurbishment scheme - our programme of work to improve play areas and skateparks across the county.

What is the play space refurbishment scheme?

It is a two year, £1.75 million investment programme to provide youngsters with high quality, safe and accessible play equipment/areas and/or skateparks.

Work for the 45 schemes, which are being developed in line with our Fixed Play Strategy, was agreed by the council's Cabinet in July 2015., and will be carried out in four phases.


Funding is from a number of sources including the council, developer Section 106 contributions, cllrs' Neighbourhood Budgets, Area Action Partnerships (AAPs) and some town and parish councils.

What is being re-furbished?

Existing swings, slides, climbing frames and other play equipment will be restored.

Play areas will be made more accessible - for example ground flush roundabouts will be installed to allow wheelchair and pushchair access and skateparks will be improved, replacing old steel equipment with modern concrete designs.

Are there any new play spaces being developed?

Yes - there are a smaller number of brand new play spaces being developed in areas where there were gaps in play provision.

Phase one


  • Consett Academy Skate Park
  • Crookgate, Burnopfield
  • The Chains, Durham City
  • St Lukes, Sedgefield
  • Jobson Terrace, Stanley Crook
  • Town Park, Willington
  • Stainton Moor, Startforth
  • Barnard Castle
  • Annfield Plain Park
  • Richmond Road Park, Newton Hall
  • Wharton Park, Durham City (play space refurbished as part of a major work scheme)
  • Holliday Park, Langley Moor (play space refurbished as part of a major work scheme)
  • Snows Green Road, Shotley Bridge
  • Recreation Ground, Coundon Stake Park
  • Glenholme Park, Crook Skate Park
  • Holly Terrace, Catchgate

Phase two


  • No Place, Stanley
  • East Stanley
  • The Wynd, Pelton
  • Merryoaks Low Barnes, Durham City
  • Crook Glenholme Park Lights
  • Jubilee Park, Howden-Le-Wear
  • Jane Armstrong Park, Bishop Auckland

Phase three


  • Moorside, Consett
  • Baliol Road, Newton Aycliffe
  • Sunnybrow
  • Stanhope playing fields
  • Westfields, Stanley
  • Riverside Park, Chester-le-Street
  • Pennine View play area, Tow Law
  • Moorfoot play area, Chester-le-Street
  • Perkinsville play area

To be completed in 2018

  • Cooper Hall, Witton Gilbert
  • Low Westwood
  • Ebchester
  • Hardy Corner, Consett
  • The Grove play area, Consett
  • View Lane Park, Stanley

Phase four 

Funding agreed. Details to be announced in 2018.

  • Sacriston Deneside Cross Lane

Further information

To find out more about our play space refurbishment scheme, please contact us.


Contact us
Customer Services
03000 26 0000
Related information
Share this page on Facebook Share this page on Twitter Print this page